Trick to get Force Trim working?

Find out more before you buy, or chat to other MD 530 pilots!
(No support requests please)
Post Reply
PurdueKev
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:44 pm
Trick to get Force Trim working?

Post by PurdueKev » Tue May 10, 2016 3:03 am

I am using a CH Fighterstick for my cyclic... I have tried every button on the stick in the ACM, and cannot seem to get the Force Trim function to work. I have tried both pressing and releasing the button before centering, and also pressing the button then centering and THEN releasing (like the Dreamfoil X-plane helos). The selected pitch angle does not stay - it is not a drift, it is as if you released your hand from the stick. For example, I am pitched forward for 70 knots and press and release the button, when I center the stick bird pitches back up and I can't hold airspeed. Is there something I am missing?

I am flying P3D v3.

Thanks!

Kevin

JonathanBleeker
Posts: 9372
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:38 pm
Re: Trick to get Force Trim working?

Post by JonathanBleeker » Tue May 10, 2016 8:07 am

the MD-530 doesn't actually have the force trim control in reality so we disabled it. Try assigning elevator/aileron trim in your FSX controls instead. You can use them to trim as we redirect those commands into the cyclic.
-JB

Milviz R&D Lab dev/Resident PITA Perfectionist.


Image
Please read the manual before posting. You will learn quicker than if I act as your instructor.

PurdueKev
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:44 pm
Re: Trick to get Force Trim working?

Post by PurdueKev » Tue May 10, 2016 1:08 pm

Thanks - the manual and the ACM tool still referred to the Force Trim function, so I was confused as to why it wasn't working.

seba0412
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:49 pm
Re: Trick to get Force Trim working?

Post by seba0412 » Tue May 10, 2016 7:15 pm

Force trim was nice function.
Sad that it's now disabled.

Krazycolin
Site Admin
Posts: 10005
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:18 pm
Re: Trick to get Force Trim working?

Post by Krazycolin » Tue May 10, 2016 8:53 pm

It was always a paid addition to the real aircraft and, for most users, hard to control/figure out. The decision was made to disable it.
Creative Director and chooser of planes.


Post Reply

Return to “MD530 General Forum”