MD530

Find out more before you buy, or chat to other MD 530 pilots!
(No support requests please)
Barkingdog
MD530

Post by Barkingdog » Fri Oct 14, 2016 8:13 pm

Hello all.

Im new to your products and this is my first post.

A little about me. My first memory was at 6 months of age, lying on my back, on a blanket in our back yard on a bright sunny blue cloudless day, is of a low flying Douglas DC4, it was super loud and left such a lasting impression, that im sure my last thoughts on this earth with be of my wife and dogs, on the wing of a plane hahaha.

I grew up near Ryan Airport in Baton Rouge and started restoring vintage aircraft as a helper machinist/welder etc... with members of the Confederate Air Force. Ive restored and flown T-6s, AT-6s, a P51, T28 and a B25. I worked for a little helicopter company named Metro Aviation and it was there I helped perform annuals on Gazelles, Bell 206s, and Hughes 300 and 500 series of helos. Specifically the 500Ds. It was there I was taught how to start turbine engines and how to hover so mechanics could properly track the main rotors. Main transmissions on the Hughes 500D taken apart is a thing of beauty to behold, especially the quality of the ring gear and its size. I have just under 1000 hours flight time as pilot in command. Several thousand in the right seat and other places. Ive flown most single engine fixed wing and some twins and about a third of my time was spent doing aerobatics. But due to a medical issue I had to walk away from flying at the age of 20. A huge change and it stunk.