Instrument/panel lights

Find out more before you buy, or chat to other Talon pilots!
(No support requests please)
Wolfgang
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:53 pm
Instrument/panel lights

Post by Wolfgang » Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:04 pm

Well I seem to be another person with this issue - no instrument lights at all. From a prior post:
Krazycolin wrote:Did you disable your AV before downloading and installing the products?

Are you running the correct Direct X installer?

Are you running P3D as an admin?

Are you using the latest version of P3D (only V3 will be supported)

Are running the Estonia migration tool? (if you ever did, you must turn it OFF while using our products)

Are you running windows 8 or windows 10? (these are unsupported OS')
Yes, as to all the proper ways to download - P3Dv3, and Windows 7. No estonia.

Any help will be appreciated. :)

Jim

JonathanBleeker
Posts: 9368
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:38 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by JonathanBleeker » Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:57 pm

Does a MV__NL.exe show up in your task manager when running the T-38?
-JB

Milviz R&D Lab dev/Resident PITA Perfectionist.


Image
Please read the manual before posting. You will learn quicker than if I act as your instructor.

Wolfgang
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:53 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by Wolfgang » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:03 pm

JonathanBleeker wrote:Does a MV__NL.exe show up in your task manager when running the T-38?
Yes, it does:

MV NL.exe *32

JonathanBleeker
Posts: 9368
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:38 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by JonathanBleeker » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:11 pm

And do the lighting knobs move?
-JB

Milviz R&D Lab dev/Resident PITA Perfectionist.


Image
Please read the manual before posting. You will learn quicker than if I act as your instructor.

Wolfgang
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:53 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by Wolfgang » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:13 pm

Yes, the lighting knobs move. Also, I do have the simconnect lib in the correct folder:
JonathanBleeker wrote:Please also ensure that you have the appropriate SimConnect libraries installed by running the SimConnect.msi found in your P3D\redist\Interface\FSX-SP2-XPACK\retail\lib

Krazycolin
Site Admin
Posts: 10005
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:18 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by Krazycolin » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:13 pm

Is the generator on?
Creative Director and chooser of planes.

Wolfgang
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:53 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by Wolfgang » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:16 pm

And I did run the SimConnect.msi located there - still no joy.

Wolfgang
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:53 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by Wolfgang » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:18 pm

Generators on - no lights.

Wolfgang
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:53 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by Wolfgang » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:21 pm

OK, I think I will re-download the aircraft. Should I try to remove all of the T38 files first?

JonathanBleeker
Posts: 9368
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:38 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by JonathanBleeker » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:53 pm

Yes. @KC the NL exe wouldn't even be loading if simconnect was missing.
-JB

Milviz R&D Lab dev/Resident PITA Perfectionist.


Image
Please read the manual before posting. You will learn quicker than if I act as your instructor.

JonathanBleeker
Posts: 9368
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:38 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by JonathanBleeker » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:54 pm

Just one question before you reinstall, please check if there is a FSX.exe in your task manager when you try the T-38.
-JB

Milviz R&D Lab dev/Resident PITA Perfectionist.


Image
Please read the manual before posting. You will learn quicker than if I act as your instructor.

Wolfgang
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:53 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by Wolfgang » Sun Jun 19, 2016 5:36 pm

JonathanBleeker wrote:Just one question before you reinstall, please check if there is a FSX.exe in your task manager when you try the T-38.
Yes, there is.

JonathanBleeker
Posts: 9368
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:38 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by JonathanBleeker » Sun Jun 19, 2016 5:59 pm

That would be why it isn't working. Your Estonia tool isn't totally disabled.
-JB

Milviz R&D Lab dev/Resident PITA Perfectionist.


Image
Please read the manual before posting. You will learn quicker than if I act as your instructor.

Wolfgang
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:53 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by Wolfgang » Sun Jun 19, 2016 6:27 pm

Ah so! But I don't remember even downloading Estonia....not that I remember everything these days!

Any tips on how to make sure it is all gone?

JonathanBleeker
Posts: 9368
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:38 pm
Re: Instrument/panel lights

Post by JonathanBleeker » Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:34 pm

Disable it in your dll.xml
-JB

Milviz R&D Lab dev/Resident PITA Perfectionist.


Image
Please read the manual before posting. You will learn quicker than if I act as your instructor.


Post Reply

Return to “Northrop T-38A Advanced General Forum”