Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Locked
Trejan
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:46 pm
Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by Trejan » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:15 pm

Hello,

I’m trying to use the standard Milviz GPS, a additional Screen and Hardware buttons to create a separate GPS unit for the C310R in P3D. The programming of the buttons is quite easy with FSUIPC since the Milviz GPS unit uses standard events like “GPS Nav1 Switch” which I can find with the logging feature of FSUIPC. Also the knob uses the events “GPS knob page inc” and so on.

I positioned the 2D panel of the GPS on the additional screen. But as soon as the 2D Panel is open the “GPS knob page inc” event does not flip one page in the GPS, but two. The same with the other events of the rotary button. Also using the knob in the VC flips two pages on the GPS and triggers the event in the FSUIPC logging window. If I use the knob on the 2D panel it works as it should, but it triggers no event which I can see in the FSUIPC logging window, so I don’t know what to map on my hardware?

Has anyone an idea what I need to map on my hardware buttons to control the 2D panel correctly?

Thanks in advance
Roland

N4GIX
Posts: 1023
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:47 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by N4GIX » Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:53 pm

Note that there are two versions of the GNS530 and 430. The one's with the suffixes _1d or _2d are to be used as a popup display, docked or undocked. Using them will prevent the "double action" because the same gauge being run in both VC and 2d popup window are what causes the "double reading" of mouse clicks.

Trejan
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:46 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by Trejan » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:48 pm

That seems to be the problem.
If I understood the panel.cfg correct the the „_1d“ and „_2d“ are called for the VC and the pop-up. Changing the gauges via the cfg didn‘t work, but removing the VC gauges from the CFG did it. That works for me, since I don‘t need it in the VC while having it on a separate display.

Thank you!

N4GIX
Posts: 1023
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:47 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by N4GIX » Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:05 pm

Well, I'm glad to hear you got it sorted, but only the gauges ending with the _xd suffix are for 2d or popup panel usage.

The ones without the _xd suffix are for the VC only. ;)

shinji_terasawa
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 3:20 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by shinji_terasawa » Sun May 24, 2020 9:23 am

Hello,
I am facing the same problem where pages advanced double when I try to advance one using "GPS knob page inc". by an assigned bottom on my gamepad. I am sorry but I could not understand where to go. Do I need to modify Panel.cfg? Which of _1d, _2d, or _xd should be removed from Panel.cfg? Thanks!

In my panel.cfg, I see:
[Window Titles]
Window00=Main Panel
Window01=Throttle
Window02=C310 Prelight
Window03=FBS_GNS430_2d
Window04=FBS_GNS530_1d
and
//--------------------------------------------------------
[Window03]
< removed for this posting >
gauge00=C310_XMLGauges!FBS_GNS530_1d, 0,0,937,685
//--------------------------------------------------------
[Window04]
< removed for this posting >
gauge00=C310_XMLGauges!FBS_GNS430_2d, 0,0,937,390

shinji_terasawa
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 3:20 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by shinji_terasawa » Sun May 24, 2020 12:18 pm

By the way, isn't is strange to have _1d and _2d "cross-referenced" by Window03 and Window04?

N4GIX
Posts: 1023
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:47 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by N4GIX » Sun May 24, 2020 4:36 pm

shinji_terasawa wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 12:18 pm
By the way, isn't is strange to have _1d and _2d "cross-referenced" by Window03 and Window04?
The 1 and 2 identify whether the specified GPS is the primary or secondary unit.
  • The primary tunes COM1 and NAV1
  • The secondary tunes COM2 and NAV2
So no, it is not the least bit strange! ;)

shinji_terasawa
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 3:20 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by shinji_terasawa » Mon May 25, 2020 1:09 am

Thank you very much. Do you have any idea on my original question? This is a much bigger problem I am facing. I appreciate your help.

N4GIX
Posts: 1023
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:47 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by N4GIX » Mon May 25, 2020 6:05 pm

If you are wanting to use the popup windows only, then comment out (//) the VC gauge entries entirely:

Code: Select all

//--------------------------------------------------------
[Vcockpit01]
<snipped for brevity>
//gauge08=C310_XMLGauges!FBS_GNS430_2,  0,451,640,262
//gauge09=C310_XMLGauges!FBS_GNS530_1,  0,0,640,448

shinji_terasawa
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 3:20 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by shinji_terasawa » Wed May 27, 2020 12:26 pm

Thank you!!!

Just to share what I have now with anyone who might be interested:
I commented out two lines (gauge08 and gauge09).
Now I have the cockpit screens for those two instruments blank.
Popped out two instruments avoid the problem of advancing two screens by a single button hit.

--
I still feel strange to see GNS530 windows pops up by pressing "FBS_GNS430_2d" under Vehicle, Instrument Panel. Pressing "FBS_GNS530_1d" brings up the GNS430 window.

N4GIX
Posts: 1023
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:47 pm
Re: Milviz GPS hardware mapping

Post by N4GIX » Wed May 27, 2020 5:20 pm

shinji_terasawa wrote:
Wed May 27, 2020 12:26 pm
I still feel strange to see GNS530 windows pops up by pressing "FBS_GNS430_2d" under Vehicle, Instrument Panel. Pressing "FBS_GNS530_1d" brings up the GNS430 window.
I've no idea how or why the ident= numbers have gotten swapped, but the 'fix' for you would be to swap them around again!

[Window03]
<snip>
ident=225 //change to 226

[Window04]
<snip>
ident=226 //change to 225


Locked

Return to “310 Redux Support Forum”